Using previously saved bases with a locked user-defined base
By checking the box in the Overwrite base options on the Navigation tab of the Options dialog box, you can set up a user defined base in Base Area 3. This will not be overwritten, while areas 1 and 2 can still be used for bases that you have previously saved.
This technique allows you to define an overall base whilst preserving each variable's saved bases as you navigate though tables.
To do this:
1. Check the Overwrite base options check box.
2. Drag your base variable into the 3rd (right-most) Base Area (the bases will automatically become locked).
3. Unlock the bases so that bases 1 and 2 will get updated with previously saved bases.
See also: Locking and unlocking bases